stuffed jalapenos

21 Feb

hey guys! i have another recipe post, today!

i don’t know if i will be posting recipes all the time, or just when i really like something. i am by no means a culinary genius and i’m still learning when it comes to cooking and baking!

as you know, i am obsessed with pinterest. i am always eager to find easy, new recipes that i can incorporate into both free days and the rest of the week, when i’m eating clean. well, barbara has a board on pinterest dedicated to food i should make. i’ve tried making a few of them and most have turned out great! once thing she found, were these jalapenos poppers, which are weight watchers friendly.

NA

i took it upon myself to tweak the recipe a bit with what i had on hand!

stuffed jalapenos (inspired by this recipe)

  • 4 T of low-fat shredded cheddar cheese
  • 4 wedges of Laughing Cow Light – Blue Cheese (any will work)
  • 2 T of non-fat greek yogurt
  • 4 jalapenos
  • 6 T of whole wheat panko breading

(the original recipe calls for dipping the jalapenos with an egg wash and then dipping into the bread crumbs. i did that the first time with egg whites and it turned out great. the second time i just sprinkled the bread crumbs on top and it worked just as good! )

instructions:

  • preheat oven to 350 degrees F and coat a large baking sheet (i used a baking stone, so this wasn’t necessary)
  • in a bowl, combine cheddar cheese, LCL, and greek yogurt, set aside
  • cut peppers in half and remove seeds, then rub your eyes (i did this on accident, actually i ALWAYS do this when working with peppers, like my eyes are only itchy when i have fire fingers, or something)
  • fill peppers with cheese mixture
  • at this point, if you are using the egg wash, dip your poppers in the wash and then coat with bread crumbs and place on baking sheet
  • if you are not using the egg wash, place the poppers on your baking sheet and sprinkle bread crumbs on top
  • bake for about 30 minutes (the cheese should be bubbling and the outside should be brown)
  • serve immediately! ENJOY!

20120221-152625.jpg

20120221-152632.jpg

i promise i will be posting an update the start of my weight loss journey, round 3489374. i fell of the wagon completely last week, and now i’m back at square one. 😦 nothing i can do about it now, except get back on track and work twice as hard. almost two months have passed and i’m nowhere near my goals i set for the new year. plus, i have a 10K i am running in on march 31st and i probably can’t run 3 minutes right now. gah!

hope everyone had a great weekend!

Q: have you ever tried to commit to something and you just kept sabotaging yourself? i, for some reason, always sabotage myself during weight loss right after 35-40 lbs lost. i don’t know why, but i really want to look into it. i KNOW i want this, so why can’t i force myself to do it?

3 Responses to “stuffed jalapenos”

  1. Man duh 02/21/2012 at 8:58 pm #

    Absolutely ride that roller coaster of goal setting slash failing!! Mostly when it comes to diet and exercise …. I just don’t get it. I always make an excuse… Only later regret my decision to break my commitment. Is it because we put too much pressure on ourselves? I’d love to know… Great blog btw. Found your shamrock shake recipe on pinterest. Doing it tomorrow for breakfast!

    • betty 02/21/2012 at 9:07 pm #

      Hey! Thanks for stopping by!! I hope you enjoy the shake, it def tastes like the real deal!

      And you’re exactly right, the guilt I carry after a binge or mess-up is so bad I wish I never did it. I want to log all if this to see if there’s something I’m doing wrong. We will see!

      Have a good night! Xox

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Amanduh 02/21/2012 at 9:43 pm #

        I like the idea of blogging… Never really played around with it before, so this is pretty cool! Staying accountable is key! I look forward to your posts!

        Ps- my fat Tuesday plans include a fat cat on my lap while I play on the iPad. 🙂 had a granola thin (delish) and some grapes for dessert..mmmm. Hope you had a good night!

Leave a Reply

